Skip to content

New Danish Government

05.07.2019  03:37

Last week, Denmark got a new government and a new prime minister. Mette Frederiksen from the Social Democrat's Party will be leading the minority leftist government as the youngest prime minister in Danish history.

Mette Frederiksen’s allies in parliament are the left-wing Red-Green Alliance, the center-left Socialist People’s Party and the centrist Social Liberals. After three weeks of negotiations, they produced an 18-pages long agreement paper outlining six broad political priorities. One of the goals set by the four parties is to cut greenhouse gas emissions by 70% by 2030.

The new ministerial team was also revealed last week, and you can find a full list of the new ministers below:

Prime Minister: Mette Frederiksen
Minister for Finance: Nicolai Wammen
Minister fir Foreign Affairs: Jeppe Kofod
Minister for Justice: Nick Hækkerup
Minister for Social Affairs and the Interior: Astrid Krag
Minister for Taxation: Morten Bødskov
Minister for Climate, Energy and Utilities: Dan Jørgensen
Minister for Food, Fisheries and Equal Opportunities and Minister for Nordic Cooperation: Mogens Jensen
Minister for Health and Senior Citizens: Magnus Heunicke
Minister for Transportation: Benny Engelbrecht
Minister for Development Cooperation: Rasmus Prehn
Minister for Children and Education: Pernille Rosenkrantz-Theil
Minister of Defence: Trine Bramsen
Minister for Higher Education and Science: Ane Halsboe-Jørgensen
Minister for Industry, Business and Financial Affairs: Simon Kollerup
Minister for Immigration and Integration: Mattias Tesfaye
Minister for Employment: Peter Hummelgaard
Minister for Housing: Kaare Dybvad
Minister for the Environment: Lea Wermelin
Minister for Culture and for Ecclesiatical Affairs: Joy Mogensen